Buying a Car

If you plan to buy a car, you should check up on the South Carolina laws that protect consumers. The state's Lemon law does not cover defects that do not substantially impair the vehicle's use, market value or safety. Defects caused by the consumer's abuse, neglect or unauthorized alteration of the car, or defects that do not show within the first 12,000 miles or 12 months, whichever occurs first are not covered either. If you buy a new car in a dealer, they will usually register the car for you. If you bought the car out-of-state, you need to transfer your title and registration.

Provide a copy of your title, registration and auto insurance. Fill out an application, provided by the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and pay the vehicle property tax that is required in the county you reside in. If you buy a car from a private party, make sure you have a bill of sale. Register and title your new vehicle with the DMV.